Showing posts with label casual food. Show all posts
Showing posts with label casual food. Show all posts

Monday, May 21, 2007

Dining over the long weekend

The long weekend is the perfect time to get out and enjoy life! During the weekend, I ended up visiting three different restaurants. Even though they were all ones I had been to before, I had some new experiences!

I went and had lunch at Viet Thai Restaurant. We have our favourites by now and order the same time every single time we get in there. That includes lemongrass chicken and beef noodles. The service was very quick this time and for 2 people, the total bill was about $30.

I also went for dinner at Baton Rouge. I had forgotten how expensive this place is simply because their portions are way too big for one person. They have a 16oz prime rib, and that's the only size you can order. Once we were seated, we ordered drinks. Then we had about a 10 minute wait between ordering our drinks and getting the server to come back so we could order our meal. Also, this place is really loud so you can hardly hear what your server is saying. The food is good, but just too much, so you have to take things home and get a huge hole in your wallet. For 2 people, the total bill was $80.

Finally, I went for a quick lunch to Boston Pizza. There was only one other group of people in the restaurant when we arrived, which I thought was kind of weird. I usually order their chicken sandwich but thought that maybe I should try something different, so I tried one of their pizzas. The "meateor" pizza was a meat pizza. However, there was a lot of oil and water under the pizza which made it a little soggy. I wasn't impressed and I think the next time I'll stick with the chicken sandwich. For 2 people, the total bill was $30.

Monday, March 19, 2007

Turtle Jack's Muskoka Grill in Burlington

Last Friday, during the crazy snow storm, and late at night (9:30), we happened on the restaurant Turtle Jack's. Of course, not many people were as crazy as us to be out in that weather, so the place was practically deserted.
I generally like the atmosphere of this chain. It's lots of wooden beams, pictures of up north. There is a nice bar area with lots of tvs tuned in to different sports. We were very quickly seated at a booth and given menus. There is a fair amount to choose from, though it's mostly burgers, sandwiches, and that type of food. I ordered the steak sandwich even though I was a little skeptical of how it would turn out. It did take us a while to order the food, which was odd since there was hardly anyone else in the restaurant. After we had ordered, it took about 10 minutes for our waitress to come back and tell us that the soup one of my party members had ordered was no longer available. That information should have been given to us right away, not 10 minutes after you order!
The steak sandwich was great. Cooked just the way I liked it. The side cesear was also pretty good and after that we didn't have any more service problems.

See more reviews of this restaurant at ResToronto Reviews.

Sunday, November 26, 2006

Sketchy Time at Walt's in Hamilton

My friend and I were rushed for dinner on Friday because we were set to attend an event at the Art Gallery of Hamilton. Walt's is right across the street from it so we decided to eat there. On the way into the restaurant we were approached by a homeless woman telling us how sexuality is evil, etc etc. Crazy! So we walk into the restaurant and there is no one there to seat us, and not that many people in there to begin with. My friend grabs to menus and we seat ourselves, then she goes up to the bar to tell the bartender that we have seated ourselves. What does he do? He claps at her!! Weird!! The atmosphere is kind of dodgy. The bar probably sees the most action. Once we started ordering food, the service was much better. I had chicken fingers, so there isn't much you can do wrong with those. My friend had a veggie burger that she had to send back because it was so rubbery. We quickly got our bills and left! Definately not a place I would go back to.

There used to be a Walt's out in Mississauga that was a great place to go but it's been replaced by another restaurant. It's unfortunate.

To see more reviews on Walt's in Hamilton, see ResToronto Reviews for Walt's.

Saturday, November 04, 2006

Lunch at Moxies - Square One Mall, Mississauga

My mom and I went for lunch one weekday at Moxies in Square One. We usually have problems getting into this place for dinner, so we don't bother even trying anymore. Lunch isn't too bad, but there can be lineups sometimes. I like the atmosphere there, but the waiters always feel pretentious, walking around with microphones in their ears like they're working at The Gap!
The menu there is great, there is a lot to choose from, including quite a few Asian-influenced foods. My favourite is probably the chicken burger. I've had the nachos there before too and they are good - made with real cheese rather than Cheese Whiz.
The service is a completely different issue though. It is always SLOW!! Slow to get to you, slow to get your drinks, very slow to get your food, and then slow to get your bill. It's a little pricey here, but overall not too bad. I go back, but only when I'm not in any rush, and when there isn't a lineup.
To read more about Moxies, see Moxies ResToronto Reviews.

Sunday, October 22, 2006

First time at Boston Pizza in Mississauga

I don't really know what made me decide to go there, but I went to Boston Pizza with my mom a week ago for lunch. The atmosphere there is very... sports bar-ish. There is a lot to choose off the menu, so all appetites can be satisfied here. Side note: Why is this place called Boston Pizza? From my understanding, it is a chain that started in Canada. So why not Toronto Pizza?

Anyways, our server was very attentive. However getting the food was too slow for the type of restaurant, type of food, and number of people in the restaurant at the time. I expected much quicker service in that aspect. I did get a refill on my drink without having to ask for it though, so that was nice.

As for the food, I enjoyed mine. I had a chicken ciabatta sandwich, and the mayo they had on it was delicious! Some type of garlic mayo. Yum. But really, this is nothing I couldn't get elsewhere. I might go back, I might not. It was nothing spectacular.

For more reviews on Boston Pizza Mississauga, check out ResToronto Reviews of Boston Pizza.

Sunday, October 01, 2006

One of my favourite restaurants - Saucy in Streetsville/Mississauga

My family is repeat eaters at Saucy's in Streetsville. We just can't get enough there (and everytime we go in we convince ourselves we're going to order something other than the usual but only 1/2 the time are we successful).

If you are visiting this place on the weekend, make reservations ahead of time or else you will be sitting in the bar area on stools that aren't too comfortable. Also, if you can, there's a table that's tucked away beside a window and behind the wine rack at the front. It's a great table. Request it if you can! Also, this restaurant is a 19+ restaurant, so don't expect to be able to bring your kids there!

We started off with bruschetta, and once we had finished all the bread (but still had tomatoes left), we were given extra garlic bread at no additional cost. There's always great service here (though I've always wondered why there is never a male waiter?). I ordered my favourite, the chicken linguini, and others ordered pasta, lamb, and a sirloin. All if it was fantastic! And the portions are huge (not something you would expect from a restaurant like this). It's more than enough to take home and fill you up once again for lunch.

I splurged and had a tiramisu for dessert - also very good (but pretty pricey at $10).
My only complaint - their coffee is pretty bad. It's way too strong and bitter.

This is a great place to go to! I go with friends and family.

To see more reviews for Saucy, see ResToronto Reviews for Saucy in Streestville.

Sunday, September 17, 2006

Lunch in Buffalo on Thursday, Dinner in Mississauga on Saturday

My mom and I took a trip down to Buffalo, New York on Thursday for some shopping and mailling. In the Wallden Galleria, we decided to try our luck at the restaurant Ruby Tuesday. I'm actually surprised that this restaurant hasn't found its way into Canada given the success of Kelsey's and other similar type restaurants. This place had the fastest service I've had for a long time! I went to the washroom before sitting down, and by the time I had returned, there was already a drink waiting for me at the table. Our waitress was fast throughout the whole meal. There was a lot to choose from on the menu, including a very extensive burger list (I guess burgers are their specialty?).
I had the chicken BLT burger and I was content with it. It was tasty, and of course, arrived very quickly. Before we were even fully finished, our waitress left the bill on our table. Quick quick quick!! Top marks for service at this restaurant!

Then on Saturday, we went to another family favourite, Happy Court. While not the more visually appealing restaurant, it's very consistent. The food is always the same, and so is the service. I enjoy their won-ton soup and that's always my first stop at their buffet. This visit I noticed some new items in their buffet, so it's nice to see them trying new things. Specifically the tiramisu dessert, that was great! I've never paid the bill there so I'm not too sure about its value in proportion to the food.
For more reviews of Happy Court, see ResToronto Reviews for Happy Court.

Thursday, August 24, 2006

Spice of Life - A disaster in Port Dalhousie (last week)

A group of us (over 10) made reservations for a restaurant in Port Dalhouse - a town close to/in St. Catharines. From the outside, the restaurant looks like a cute place. It's got a nice patio too (that unfortunately couldn't be utilized because it was raining). Our group was put upstairs in the dining room. I had to use the washrooms, and I know that some people don't understand why I would talk about the washrooms in a restaurant review, but I believe that part of good atmosphere is having a nice restaurant. I thought that their restroom was rather grungy. The paint was peeling, there was paint on the toilet, and nothing looked clean. Though it did look like they tried hard to decorate the place.

Since we had arrived before 5pm, we were waiting until after 5 pm to order off the dinner menu. Before then, I split an order of spring rolls with 2 other people at the table, and they were amazing! They had potatoes in them, which is odd to me for spring rolls, but they were delicious!!

However it seemed that after 5pm, things went downhill. We ordered our dinner around 5:15, and had to wait a good hour and a half to actually get our meals. The excuse was that everything is made from scratch. Once the meals did start arriving, there was probably a 10 minute span from when the first person received their meal, until when the last person received their meal. Once I received my meal, I started to eat the mashed potatoes, and they were freezing cold! It was disgusting. I had to send them back to be reheated. Also, I had ordered my steak medium rare, and it was cooked well done. I don't want to know what the steak would have been like if I had asked for well done.

As if that weren't enough, once the bills came (we asked for seperate bills), they weren't actually seperate bills, and we had to figure out whose food was on which bill. My dinner ended up being on three different bills.

Needless to say, not much of a tip was left after going to this restaurant, and I definately will not be returning. For more reviews on Spice of Life, see Spice of Life ResToronto Reviews.

Sunday, August 13, 2006

Easy Dinner in Etobicoke - Dundas Street Grille

I was in Etobicoke on Saturday hanging out with some friends and we decided to go to the Dundas Street Grille. The parking lot was surprisingly packed at 6pm. This place is definately a family restaurant. It is not by any means a trendy spot to dine. The average age of patrons is probably older than most other restaurants. We had to wait a while to be seated because it was so busy.

The menu was huge and the prices were low! We all ordered one of the specials, a turkey dinner. It didn't look too appetizing, but I thought it was pretty tasty. However, we did have a bit of a problem with the service. I ordered my drink soon after sitting down, but I had to ask for it again, and didn't get it until after I had received my dinner.

It was weird because around 7pm, the restaurant cleared out. There was hardly anyone left in the restaurant! I'm not too sure I would return, unless I was with my parents or my grandparents.

For more reviews on Dundas Street Grille, see the Dundas Street Grille ResToronto Reviews.

Also, after dinner we headed over to the Yellow Cup Cafe, which is a cute place that serves sandwiches, salads, all different types of coffee and desserts. It has a great atmosphere (and yummy coffee!). Check out the Yellow Cup Cafe ResToronto Reviews.

Sunday, August 06, 2006

With a name like Superior, it has to be good?

I was downtown for some theatre on the weekend (Canon theatre), and walking along Yonge Street I saw the restaurant Superior, which is fairly close to the Canon. We walked into the restaurant and the entrance is fairly impressive. There is a massive wooden bar located to the left, and stairs to a second story section of the restaurant.

We were seated on the first floor of the restaurant, near the middle of the restaurant, and were one of 3 other tables full in the entire restaurant. This was slightly weird, as it was noon and the street was very busy, so why was there no one in the restaurant?

The menu was very limited, and I was pretty disappointed with it. I didn't know what half of the items were, and the things I did know were not quite to my taste. This is definately not the place to go for people that want simple food. I ended up ordering the steak sandwich, which was pretty tasty. Our waiter was attentive, as he should be since no one else was in the restaurant.

I would return to this place if they beefed up their menu. For more reviews on Superior, see ResToronto Reviews for Superior on Yonge.

Saturday, August 05, 2006

Friday Night Blahs - Dinner at Swiss Chalet

Unlike most other residents of Mississauga/Toronto, I had no plans to visit the cottage on the long weekend of the Civic Holiday. By about 7pm, there was hardly anyone left in town! We didn't want to cook dinner so we headed over to the local Swiss Chalet. We can't get enough of their chicken!

When the parking lot is close to empty, take this as a sign that there is no one in the restaurant! I think there may have been about 5 other families in the restaurant in total. And just a note for those with young ones, this Swiss Chalet location has a kids area for you children to play!

I got my favourite, the double leg dinner, which was great as always. I think our waitress was fairly new, as she seemed to forget about us once dinner was brought out. We had to signal to her to get us refills.

This restaurant is by no means an up scale restaurant, but for family dining it serves its purpose.

For more reviews of this Swiss Chalet, see ResToronto Reviews for Swiss Chalet on Leanne Road.

Saturday, July 29, 2006

A Family Favourite - Peter's on Eglinton

This is one of my family's favourite restaurants. We make return trips here all the time and never get sick of it! Usually there is a line to get in, but if you wait late enough (or you go on a long weekend), you can get in fairly easily. The average age of waiters and waitresses is quite a bit older than any other restaurant. And you can tell that these people are experienced. They have also been working there for a long time because every time we return, we see the same people.

The inside of Peter's has chandeliers, multiple types of wallpaper, stained glass, but is still somehow appeasing to the eye. Or maybe I've just gotten used to it.

Their most tried item on the menu by my family is their deli sandwiches. These sandwiches are so big that they are impossible to eat like a real sandwich. Peter's puts other restaurants to shame in terms of proportion and value. We always come home with a Styrofoam container because we can never finish our meal. But if you aren't in the mood for a deli sandwich then there are tons of other items on the menu that you could have. I had the fish and chips, which I think is the first time I've tried it. The fish was light and fluffy, which made it possible to eat both pieces. I also really enjoy the open faced roast beef sandwich. They also provide you with buns before the meal (which I don't suggest eating, you need to leave room for your huge meal!).

For more reviews on Peter's, see ResToronto Reviews for Peter's on Eglinton

Friday, July 21, 2006

Summerlicious at Barootes Casual Dining

A group of us went to Barootes Casual Dining for Summerlicious. It's the restaurant right over Quotes Bar & Grill (and I think they are owned by the same people). While Quotes is more like a place to grab a quick lunch, Barootes is a definately for dining.

It was raining when we arrived, and we were graciously offered a place to put our umbrellas so we didn't have to take them with us to the table. We were seated quickly because we had made reservations. The person serving us drinks wasn't very good, and thankfully he wasn't our server. He forgot what drinks people ordered, and for the orders he did remember, he gave the drinks to the wrong person. One thing I thought was funny was that rather than telling us to wines they had specially, they told us we could go up to the bar and look at them. I'd rather be told than go running around the restaurant.

The summerlicious menu had food that I was interested in, so I didn't even look at their regular menu. For $25, I had crab cakes, steak & fries, and tartufo! The steak was probably the beste part of the meal, but the tartufo was very good too! The service throughout the meal was consistent. For the most part, our water glasses were topped off (near the end, they weren't). When multiple people paid with credit cards, we had enough pens on the table for each person. Little things like that were handled very well.

As for the atmosphere, the place is fairly dark because it has dark stained wooden beams running across the ceiling an it isn't well lit except for at the tables. I loved the paintings on the wall. They were all very colourful, and very interesting!

This was a good experience, and I would return to check out their regular menu.

For more Barootes reviews, go to ResToronto Reviews for Barootes.

Monday, July 10, 2006

Bistro 100 - World Cup Food in Mississauga!

A couple of my friends and I went out to watch the final World Cup game, and we didn't have an easy time of it!

We first went to Coopers Pub. There wasn't a seat left in the place to be had! We have gone there before for round robin play and enjoyed it. We turned around and headed south-east.

Stop 2 was the Rooster & Firkin. When we got there, there were only 2 groups of people sitting infront of the projector screen showing the game. These 2 groups took up the entire space infront of the screen and there was no place left to sit! I did overhear one of the members of these groups asking to turn up the volume - they have volume at Coopers. Then the bartender said "Then go to Coopers!". That was our clue to leave.

Stop 3 was the Mad Hatter Olde British Pub. Once again, absolutely no seats! Although, I wish we had arrived there on time because they had both a projector screen and an HD Tv!

By now, we were about 10 minutes away from game play. One of my friends and I remembered there being a pub inside of a Holiday Inn way up near the 401/403. This also happens to be where we watched the previous World Cup final (because it was one of the few places we could find open at 7am). So we found good seats at Bistro 100. It was freezing cold when we got there, but thankfully they turned down the AC for us. The place kind of reminded me of someone's finished basement. It had a bar and a widescreen tv. The server was fairly good, although he did have one slip up. He removed my friend's plate while she was watching the game (her not realizing it was gone), but she wasn't finished. He made up for it by bringing her a brand new plate of food! The menu was more for dinner than it was for lunch. And it was fairly expensive. More expensive than it should have been. I had a burger however, and it was very tasty! Also note that drinks are not free refills! I wouldn't go back, but for a tired traveller it's not a bad place to go to.

Sunday, July 09, 2006

Palm's Court - Mississauga Casual Restaurant

The family went to Palm's Court Restaurant today. There were 5 of us in total. Whenever I visit this place, I wonder how anyone managed to find the restaurant, let alone venture into it. It's in a strip mall diagonally across from the hospital, and it looks like a hole in the wall. Yet when you get inside, it's not bad looking. We were seated immediately. Most of the patrons of this restaurant are ederly. I'm not too sure if this is because the restaurant is in an area where the population is older, or because it is near the hospital.
Our waitress was kind of slow, but she did a fairly good job. However, when she brought the drinks, she managed to drop one of the wine glasses onto a plate and smash it into pieces. She was very thorough about removing anything that could have glass in it, except for one thing - the wine itself!! It's like she didn't mind re-cleaning stuff, but she didn't want to waste the money on the wine. Most of us had the roast beef dinner. It was cooked well, and had a nice selection of potatoes and vegetables along with it. It was a good sized portion.
The price wasn't too bad. I believe it was around $25 per person (full meal and drinks).
Overall, I give it a 7.5/10

For more reviews on this restaurant, see Palm's Court ResToronto Reviews